Jewish Public Library
5151 Côte-Ste-Catherine | Montreal | T 514 345 2627 Home  |  Contact Us  |   CATALOGUE  |   Français
The stories we tell...
Databases and E-Books
A database is a collection of organized information, such as journal articles, photographs or genealogical information. We use databases to help us organize, search for and retrieve information on a given topic.

The databases listed below are available to members of the Jewish Public Library.

You will be asked to log in using the number on your library card (your ID) and your password.
(Don’t have a password? Call the library circulation desk to create a password (514) 345-2627 ext. 3003)

For help navigating these resources, or for help finding the full-text of an article, please call the Reference desk (514) 345-2627 ext. 3001


DATABASES

Log in to your account to access the databases.

Choose one of the following databases from the list on the right hand side of the (catalogue) screen. The following are descriptions only.

Ancestry.ca (In-library use only)

Ancestry.ca offers members access to over 125 million searchable Canadian family history records. Search Canadian and international records including the Canadian censuses, passenger lists, English, Welsh and Scottish censuses, birth, marriage and death records as well as user-contributed family trees.


Jewish Studies Source

Jewish Studies Source includes over 400 full-text titles, including the leading academic journals as well as magazines and newspapers with Jewish content. Whether searching for historical, biblical, cultural or political information, this database will search its hundreds of periodicals for results based on your search. Some key titles available include: Holocaust & Genocide Studies, Jewish Political Studies Review, Journal of Jewish Education and Jewish Bible Quarterly as well as over 1600 biographies of leading historical and contemporary Jews. Articles from Jewish Telegraphic Agency date back to 1922 and include interesting primary source material, while other periodicals have more recent holdings.

Footnote Holocaust Archive

Footnote Holocaust Archives presents a variety of digitized primary sources related to the Holocaust, including concentration camp administrative reports, releases, and deaths, as well as records pertaining to the seizure of Jews’ assets by the Nazis during the Holocaust and the Nuremberg Interrogation Records. You can also search the Concentration Camp Pages which provide a background of each camp, a map, a timeline and an account of key events. The Stories Pages detail the personal accounts of over 600 individual victims and survivors.

Heritage Quest Online

This genealogical database includes a wide variety of primary sources in American genealogical research dating back to the 18th century. It includes digitized local history collections, 1790-1930 U.S. Federal Census, the Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files, the Freedman’s Bank records and Private Relief Actions, and Memorials and Petitions from the U.S. Serial Set.

Index to Jewish Periodicals

A bibliographic database of English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 220 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. The content is updated twice per year.

Journal of Biblical Literature

The Journal of Biblical Literature is published quarterly and includes scholarly articles, critical notes and book reviews by members of the Society of Biblical Literature. Full-print is available online.


E-BOOKS

The following books can be read or browsed online. Print pages from your home, e-mail them to yourself, or save them for later.

Log in to your account to access the e-books.

Choose an e-book from the list on the right hand side of the (catalogue) screen. The following are descriptions only.

Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa

This biographical encyclopedia illuminates the lives of the most influential and controversial figures in the Middle East and North Africa who came to prominence during the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. It includes profiles of contemporary leaders who belong to various political, ethnic, and religious groups, as well as notable individuals associated with business, law, science, social issues, sports, entertainment, literature, and the fine and performing arts.

The Contemporary Middle East: A Documentary History

This book brings together more than 120 primary source documents which shaped the Middle East, including speeches, charters, diplomatic agreements, UN resolutions, and other texts that have influenced major events and movements. A chronology covering the period 1917-2007 complements the narratives and documents.

Encyclopedia of American Jewish History

The Encyclopedia of American Jewish History analyzes the American Jewish experience from its beginnings in the mid-seventeenth century to the present. Search by keyword, or browse the book by thematic topic.

Encyclopedia of Judaism

This four volume encyclopedia includes entries on a wide variety of topics related to Judaism, placing an emphasis on historical subject matter. Browse the index online or search for a topic of interest.

Encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli conflict

Published in 2008, this work offers readers key insights into the military, political, social, cultural, and religious origins of the Arab-Israeli conflict.

Encyclopedia of the Jewish Diaspora

This encyclopedia provides both general overviews Jewish communities around the world, with historical chronologies, major events, community organizations and statistics; as well as in-depth analysis on themes and phenomena related to specific regions, ranging from music to language to science.

Encyclopedia Judaica

The Encyclopedia Judaica provides an exhaustive overview of all aspects of Jewish life and Jewish history. This is an online version of the 22 volume encyclopedia which is available to consult in the library.